'the life of a textile and surface pattern designer'

Oh, what a lovely morning!

Good morning everyone!

I am up bright and early today as I have a day off work and I really really wanted to catch up on the ‘Art of Wild Abandonment‘ videos. This workshop, is slightly out of my confort zone as I am more of a slap- dash-see-what-happen-kinda girl….not much planning just straight to the project, whilst here we are sketching ideas in our sketchbook before creating our art.

My workdesk….lounge carpet….dining table….sofa…bed….alllll clear of crafting stuff today (only after a mad panic last night as I remembered friends were popping over!) So any picture of my workdesk would be rather boring today, although actually come to think of it, it would make a rare photo that hubby would probably treasure for many years!!! I do however, have a little picture of that finished tag from last week. Thankyou for all your lovely comments last week on the half finished tag, I hope you still like the final tag! I even made a little collection of them!

It is a fabric canvas tag created for part of a swap I was member of on UKScrappers.I think, my swappee tags have arrived in the shop, but as its half term and hubby has the car today I gotta wait until tomorrow to see them, I can’t wait!

But my BIG project this weekend has been this canvas board inspired by the PanPastel workshop I took with Donna Downey when she was in the UK last week. Here is Donna’s workshop sample :

The canvas board I created based on this workshop :

20120404-071443.jpg

My follow up canvas board created this week :

Isn’t it funny how a picture can totally change your opinion of an Art Piece?!! In real life I would say the Follow Up Board looks better, but in the picture boy am I loving the Purple one and I hated, hated, hated it to start with! I was cursing at myself for not following Donna’s and trying to take mine completely away from the look of hers, but this morning jeez that one is making me happy! Always loved my pan pastels and pretty addicted to them right now, I have all the core colors as they are so easy to mix with the white, grade and black to created the shades and tones that they sell. The only problem with that is the consistancy, but for now they are totally rocking my world.

Another thing I’m loving right now are my watercolors, I have my Windsor Newton’s out and have loaded myself up with watercolor books from the Library! I am a girl on a mission to get mastering those watercolors….and for that I blame the beautiful work of Junelle Jacobson! Although, I must say I have just discovered Gouche paints and brought a cheap selection to experiment with, so exciting…..love new supplies! Hopefully I might get time to crack those open today if I’m lucky!

Just look at the gorgeous illustration in that Library book!! Beautiful!

Wow! Look at all my writing today, can’t shut me up! I’m sure all you WOYWW’ers wanna head onto the next blog so I’ll let you go…lovely snooping at your workdesks last week, apologies I didn’t make it round to all…each week there seems to be more and more of us! If I didn’t get to you last week, watch out as it will probably be you this week! (and if you’re wondering how to what WOYWW is or how to become one, head on over to the Stamping Ground…but pretty sure just about every papercrafter/scrapbooker/stamper/mixed media blogger knows alll about Julia’s great idea by now)

Oooh, one last thing….we actually had a couple of lurvely sunny days last week and as we live just about 30mins from the coast we headed straight to the beach after work. Chips on the seafront on a sunny evening, it was bliss, so nice and the kids LOVED it. I never really blog family things, but here we are….. and even though it chopped our heads off and the face of my little boy I can’t wait to scrap this picture….love it…. it has headed straight to the top of the pile!

24 responses

  1. What a beautiful picture of your beach trip! I also adore the purple canvas.

    April 4, 2012 at 10:01 am

  2. Great family snap shot! the tag turned out great and loving the canvasses! x

    April 4, 2012 at 11:18 am

  3. Love your tags and style!

    April 4, 2012 at 12:44 pm

  4. Great fabric tags – they will love them!
    Wonderful canvas projects too – need to do this too 🙂

    April 4, 2012 at 3:59 pm

  5. A very productive week. Love both your Donna Downey creations but have to agree the purple one is fab – think its the texture.

    April 4, 2012 at 4:06 pm

  6. Great projects! I took that same workshop from Donna & still haven’t finished it LOL! Story of my life!!

    April 4, 2012 at 4:30 pm

  7. Oh wow wow wow!!! At everything! Your finished tag is awesome and gosh your canvas is gorgeous! I do like the purple but yours look as beauifull if not more! And your pic at the end is sooo sweet! You have to scrap it for sure!!!

    April 4, 2012 at 5:06 pm

  8. Wow!! Great projects! Love them

    April 4, 2012 at 5:45 pm

  9. Fabulous Tags and Fabulous colours. Have a lovely Easter. Hugs Rita xx

    April 4, 2012 at 6:36 pm

  10. I love the purple canvas one too! Your followup canvas has a totally different look and they are both great, but the purple one speaks to me more. I like how the canvas bird tags came out.

    April 4, 2012 at 8:25 pm

  11. You are your own worst critic..did I say that last time? BOTH canvases are beautiful. I’m the same at a class, I always try to do my own thing, but I ne’er get a result as lovely as this! great photo of you four, my oh my, how like his Daddy your youngest is!

    April 4, 2012 at 8:47 pm

  12. Miriam

    Fabulous work & great photo

    April 4, 2012 at 9:53 pm

  13. Fabulous!I love the tags and those canvases are gorgeous.

    April 4, 2012 at 10:34 pm

  14. Gorgeous to go to the seaside. I had lunch at the beach yesterday after going to market. Love the art, and yes it’s hard to pick between the purple and the yellow. Both are very appealing and so different in mood.
    Ros. #105

    April 5, 2012 at 4:50 am

  15. sandra de

    Great pics of what is happening on your watch. I have to agree about the watercolours, I love them as well. Great canvas that you are doing via Donna’s online workshop. Isn’t it wonderful that we can do all these online workshops in the comfort of our home.

    April 5, 2012 at 9:43 am

  16. Love seeing what you’ve made with all your inks and paints and pastels. Beautiful work. And I am very envious that you took a Donna Downey workshop!

    April 5, 2012 at 10:05 am

  17. Danielle

    Beautiful canvases! I like them all, but the yellow one is my favorite. I think it is the doily. Great photo at the beach!

    April 5, 2012 at 1:11 pm

  18. Gorgeous tags and art projects, plus a fab family photo 🙂

    I hope you have a lovely Easter weekend, Luv Karen xx #173

    April 5, 2012 at 1:44 pm

  19. Love all your tags and your canvasses! Going to the beach sounds wonderful!

    April 5, 2012 at 9:24 pm

  20. Loving all the layers on your purple canvas. They are both great, sounds like a wonderful class. The tags are really special, love the ruffled newsprint type paper. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’m going to follow you, love your style. Barb

    April 5, 2012 at 10:13 pm

  21. What super pictures. Love those canvases. Take care, it’s Friday and I’m still snooping my way through the list! Zo xx 78

    April 6, 2012 at 9:33 am

  22. Oooh I love your tag and canvasses – I am doing a watercolour course at the moment – such fun! Thanks for visiting me and have a great Easter.

    April 6, 2012 at 11:57 am

  23. I love your tag and canvases. So creative. You have a great style.

    April 6, 2012 at 2:07 pm

  24. BJ

    Thanks for your comments on my Altered Book. Really need to try to use paints soon, I bought some and haven’t dared to open them – YET! Your purple canvas is adorable, it has such depth. Thanks for sharing – BJ #58

    April 7, 2012 at 5:56 am

Leave a Reply

