'the life of a textile and surface pattern designer'

Lets make 2012 BEAUTIFUL, our once upon a time….

2012 is going to be a good year, no wait, that’s wrong, it’s going to be a GREAT year! Its gonna be a year to make our own, to create our story, our once upon a time.

Here’s one of the first pictures I took after the strike of midnight scrapped for the week one challenge on UKScrappers. The challenge was that we had to include three elements into our layout, which were Doodling, Circles & use of Old Stash only. Here are some of the requirements in focus…

I LOVE doodling at the best of times and to have ‘permission’ to doodle on my layout was music to my ears! This doodled flourish was the beginnings of my page and I added a circular element to it by using some gorgeous diamantes. I also stamped (using my sons lego brick of all things!!!!) some circular elements to the edges of my page to help ground the floral embellishments.

I LOVE these journal cards from Webster Pages, they are all have the ‘feel good’ factor. I had them out on the table when I was trying to create this layout and I decided that the title, ‘Lets make 2012 BEAUTIFUL, our once upon a time would be perfect as I really have a good feeling about this year…I am going to make it MY year. I love the ideas of incorporating butterflies into this as butterflies take flight and are free with seemingly no cares in the world….a place I’d love to be! I have a gorgeous butterfly mask from Tattered Angels, which I just love to use and I thought this would tie in well with the butterflies on the journaling card. Therefore I laid the mask down and spritz over plain white cardstock with a purple glimmer mist to create my background paper. I then found some plain chipboard butterflies which I inked with a purple stazon to co-ordinate with the other elements of the page. (*I just actually remembered I was gonna to coat some glossy accents over the butterflies to give them a perfect finish, but as in true Claire style, something has been forgotten!!!)

These butterflies, were encased in doodled circles with leading lines.  Doodling a border around the white cardstock, photo and journaling cards helped finish this page perfectly along with a scrap of lace I found right at the end, tying in the color of the lettering perfectly.

6 responses

  1. I love the doodling, and the lego stamping!! shame mine was given away recently…. x

    January 9, 2012 at 7:38 pm

  2. Sue

    That page is beautiful!!

    January 9, 2012 at 8:04 pm

  3. Great page LOVE the doodling and the butterfly misting – super page.

    January 9, 2012 at 8:13 pm

  4. Beautiful layout! I love the doodling, and the use of older product. What a great challenge! TFS!

    January 9, 2012 at 9:57 pm

  5. Emy

    Fantastic page Claire – I love the lego stamping!

    January 10, 2012 at 1:06 pm

  6. lruk

    Love, love, love this page. So many techniques and so much detail, truly inspiring.

    January 10, 2012 at 8:44 pm

Leave a Reply

