'the life of a textile and surface pattern designer'

Life right now…the keepsake

Another little project I have been working on in the recent weeks, has been a 5″ x 5″ chipboard album by Maya Road. I was over the moon when I saw 5″ x 5″ albums were created as this is the ideal size to use up all those little 6″ x 6″ pieces of beautiful paper. Needless to say though, that I ended up cutting into 12″ x 12″ sheets!!!

I was really inspired by the ‘Lille’ collection from ‘7gypsies’ hence the red & blue color scheme! I couldn’t believe it when I found words on the ‘Lille’ Papers which said ‘Life right now’ as I’d always loved the idea of doing an album come journal about this moment in time as often we only scrap past events. I started by adhering  some ‘7gypsies” papers to the cover before adding a layer of texture on top using ‘Molding Paste’ by Golden. I absolutely LOVE molding paste…it is so easy to do and adds a complete new dimension to your work!

All you need is to lay a stencil down and to apply the molding paste to your project using either a palette knife/paintbrush/fingers (each will give a slightly different result, so have a play to find the texture you prefer). You can see here I have used a ‘Honeycomb’ stencil, which is actually one of my new favorites. Once dried, you will have a raised texture in the pattern of the stencil used. One of the BEST things about Molding paste is that YOU can decide how much depth you want to create by just adding more paste! I love it! If you haven’t already, you must have a play!

I heavily debated leaving the chipboard bare, with the paper and texture on top, however I thought we needed to add a little more ‘punch’ to the occasion so I used a red ‘Golden Fluid Acrylic’ to paint a layer of color over the top. The great thing about the ‘Golden Fluid Acrylic’ is that many of them are transparent so you can still see much of the paper detail underneath. This photo of part of the back cover, shows you exactly what I mean:

Doesn’t that look good!?! I then adding more interest to the cover by adhering my title and adding paint in a variety of ways using bubblewrap, lego & lids amongst other items! I also adding a touch of gold embossing around the edges and to create a stamped butterfly image. The metal flowers are from the new ‘Staples’ range from ‘Graphic45’. Here, all I have done is to layer them and manipulate the petals into a 3D shape (they come packaged flat) but I have plenty more ideas that I’m trying out with them too!! I then drew stems & leaves onto them before adding final touches with rub-ons & lace.

I am still working on filling the inside pages, but I promise to show you soon!!

All products used from Creative Moments

Leave a Reply

